Mid-Sussex, Crawley & Horsham Green Party fields record number of candidates for 2017 local elections

26 April 2017

Green voters across Mid-Sussex, Crawley and Horsham are more likely to have a candidate than ever before, as the local Green Party fields a record number of candidates. 

All seats in Crawley and Mid-Sussex will offer a Green Party Candidate, as well as four divisions across Horsham. The local picture follows a national trend with the Green Party share of the vote increasing by 3.8% in the last general election in 2015. 

Catherine Ross, Green Party spokesperson for Horsham said: "For a long time, people whose principles are most closely aligned with the Green Party have had to compromise in the voting booth. By fielding so many candidates this time, we're hoping more people will turn out to vote for a party they believe in."

The Green Party campaigns on issues of social justice, funding of public services, fossil free, affordable energy, secure housing and an economy that works for everyone. Read more about the Green Party policies here.

The full list of Green Party candidates across Mid-Sussex, Crawley and Horsham is as follows: 

Horsham District             

Mid Sussex District         




 Bewbush and Ifield West 

 Martin Kail


 Charlotte Franco

 Langley Green and Ifield East

 Ben Fletcher

 Maidenbower and Worth

 Daniel Fletcher

 Northgate and West Green

 Samuel Wiltshire

 Pound Hill 

 Daniel Elliott

 Southgate and Gossops Green

 Richard Kail

 Three Bridges

 Danielle Kail

 Tilgate and Furness Green

 Derek Hardman


 Bramber Castle 

 Joanna Prior


 Catherine Ross

 Southwater and Nuthurst

 Peter Shaw

 Horsham Riverside

 Ferial MacTavish


 Burgess Hill East

 Matthew Cornish

 Burgess Hill North

 Anne Eves

 Cuckfield & Lucasters

 Catherine Edminson

 East Grinstead Meridian

 James Symonds

 East Grinstead South & Ashurst Wood

 Elaine Eichner

 Hassocks & Burgess Hill South

 Nick Dearden

 Haywards Heath East

 Gillian Maher

 Haywards Heath Town

 David Woolley 

 Hurstpeirpoint & Bolney

 Mike Airey


 Justin Morgan

 Lindfield & High Weald

 Paul Brown

 Worth Forest 

 Darrin Green

 HH Franklands

 Robert Duggan